Skip to main content

Another great National School Bus Safety Week is in the books! Each year, National School Bus Safety Week draws attention to the importance of school bus safety and those that make it possible. Thanks to all of the amazing school bus drivers throughout the region who help get our students safely to and from school!

A total of 18 schools and two district offices participated in National School Bus Safety Week 2020 with Georgia Commute Schools. From those 18 schools and two district offices, a total of 110 bus drivers received acknowledgment for their ongoing commitment to their communities.

This year, we also recognized 14 bus drivers from around the region who were nominated for going above and beyond to serve their communities:

A stop sign behind a hand holding a school bus figurine. Image from Jackson Swimmer at Unsplash.
  • Terri Anderson, Marietta City Schools
  • Terry Chamblee, Atkinson Elementary, Griffin High School, Griffin-Spalding County Schools
  • Carolyn Christian, Rockdale County Schools
  • Lashonda Clark, Hampton Elementary School, Henry County Schools
  • Charlene Deadwyler, Winder Elementary school, Barrow County Schools
  • Deloris Hudson, Carrollton City Schools, Carrollton City Schools
  • Ms. Joy, Vickery Creek Elementary, Forsyth County Schools
  • Darlene Knight, Coal Mountain Elementary, Forsyth County Schools
  • Danyelle Knox, Talley Street Upper Elementary School, City Schools of Decatur
  • Lorenzo Martinez, Hampton Elementary School, Henry County Schools
  • Ernest McCord, Lovejoy High School, Clayton County Schools
  • Debbie Palermo, Winder Elementary School, Barrow County Schools
  • Shameka Thompson, Clayton County Schools
  • Linda Yeager, Coal Mountain Elementary, Clayton County Schools

Below are some photos of just a few of the many bus drivers who make a difference in our community:

[sliderpro id=”7″]

Title image from Dan Dennis on Unsplash

Leave a Reply